Home Big Story Fixed Wireless Access licences expire in June

Fixed Wireless Access licences expire in June

Fixed Wireless Access licences expire in June
By Bunmi Adeniyi
Lagos. July 1, 2012. Fixed Wireless Access (FWA) licences issued by the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) to 11 companies to offer wireless internet and data service across the nook and cranny of Nigeria have expired last June.
The expiry of the five-year lifespan of the licences have once again refocused the attention of the telecoms regulatory agency on the issue of cancellation of licences deemed to have failed to meet obligations, particularly actual network rollout to offer commercial service.
Technology Times learnt from officials of the regulatory agency that decision will be taken on the expiration of the FWA licences in line with stipulated rollout obligations attached to them to inform decisions that will be taken on them.
NCC has said in recent times that it would cancel dormant licences to recoup assigned spectrum for telecoms growth in the country but says that such a decision would be taken in line with stipulated guidelines.
The telecoms regulatory agency is yet to announce if the FWA licences have been renewed as information obtained from its website shows that the 11 licences in that service category expires at the end of June, this year.
The licence, which became operative July, 1 2007 were then allocated to XS Broadband Limited, Witel Limited (formerly Startech Connection Ltd), Rainbownet Limited, Odua Telecoms Limited, CyberSpace Limited, IPNX Nigeria Limited and Wideaways Nigeria Limited.
Others include Hyperia Limited (formerly Modern Telecom Ltd), Mega Tech Engineering Ltd, Sirius Wireless Limited, Horizon Broadcasting and Telecommunications Ltd and Swift Networks.
XS Broadband has the largest network locations covering 24 States across Nigeria including Cross River, Rivers, Delta, Ebonyi, Imo, Lagos, Ekiti, Osun, Kaduna, Abuja, Kogi and Kwara State.
The company’s licence spectrum also extends to Niger, Gombe, Bauchi, Borno, Adamawa, Taraba, Yobe, Zamfara, Jigawa, Kastina, Kebbi and Sokoto State.
On the other hand, Rainbownet’s allocated locations include Abia, Anambra, Enugu, Ebonyi and Imo while Odua Telecoms is located in Ekiti, Ondo, Osun, Ogun and Oyo State.
Cyberspace and Swift Networks licences cover Lagos while those of Witel Limited and IPNX Nigeria cover Abuja.
On the other hand, Hyperia and Sirius Wireless licences cover Rivers State while Wideaways Nigeria covers Enugu and Mega Tech Engineering covers Kano state.
There's joy in sharing
Technology Times Staff News and Reports from Technology Times Newsroom. Call/SMS/ WhatsApp: +234 815 7000 100

We want to hear from you...